Skip to content

American Advertising Awards

The American Advertising Awards are the advertising industry’s largest and most representative competition, attracting over 50,000 entries every year in local competitions. The mission of the competition is to recognize and reward creative excellence in the art of advertising.

Conducted annually by the American Advertising Federation (AAF), our local competition is the first of a three-tier, national competition. Entering the competition supports our entire industry, because the AAF and its local and district affiliates use the proceeds to enhance advertising through programs such as public service, internships, advocacy groups, advertising education, and consumer awareness.

The call for entries for AAFCM’s competition is released October/November with entries due around, or shortly after, the first of the year. The entries are judged and a fun, theme-inspired show (usually held in the St. Cloud area) is held to honor our club’s student and professional award recipients. From there, winning entries move on to the district and then, hopefully, national level to compete with other top-notch work from around the country.

Here’s a brief history of our local award shows and our nod of gratitude to the fine folks who donated their time and energy as event chairs:

YearChairThemeAgency of RecordVenue
2006 AdsoluteHatling FlintCivic Center
2007Aaron BrossoitAd Wars Holiday Inn
2008Michele Anderson
Rick Jensen
ADDY in WonderlandAgency 128Holiday Inn
2009Rick Jensen
Cory Hollenhorst
50’s Ad EraAdventureRegency
2010Corinne & Greg SkoogTotally 80’sAdventureCivic Center
2011Kristie HaubrichWhite OutAdventureCivic Center
2012Kristie Haubrich
Anita Hollenhorst
Secret SocietyAdventureSCSU
2013Anita Hollenhorst
Amy Imdieke
DIYDS (Do It Your Damn Self)AdventureParamount
2014Rebecca Backes
Tara Dickinson
AlterEgoGaslight CreativeParamount
2015Katie SczublewskiCiphers + LegendsAdventureParamount
2016Andrea YurczykRegency Creative ClubAdventureRegency
2017Sarah Forystek
Andrea Yurczyk
Ad ScoutsAgency 128Regency
2018Sarah Forystek
Lacey Schirmers
Bridget Deutz
 AdventureThe Grand Ballroom at
the Best Western Kelly Inn
2019Lacey Schirmers
Megan Hollenhorst
 AdventureThe Gorecki Center at
the College of Saint Benedict
2020Sarah Forystek SourcewellThe Gorecki Center at
the College of Saint Benedict
2021Taylor Sellnow Meta 13Virtual
2022Taylor Sellnow
Amanda Baloun
 SureCan ProductionsThe Gorecki Center at
the College of Saint Benedict

If you have more information about past shows that isn’t represented here, please let our current show chairs know by sending an email to

For more information about the American Advertising Awards visit